Leave A Review

Your impression of the quality and value of our services is very important to us. We respectfully ask for your assistance in evaluating the services we provided, as this will enable us to provide the best possible care to others who turn to us in their time of need.

Click Here or the image below to Submit a Review/Testimonial



See What Families Are Saying


Hello Mark,

I just wanted to say thank you to you and your team for making wake/funeral process as pleasant as possible with the passing of my mom - Dorothy.

You were professional in every way. I always felt that we were in good hands.

Also, I just attended visitation services at your primary Joliet competition (on Plainfield Rd.) - you prepared my mom extremely well. She looked like she was peacefully sleeping. This was so much better than your competition - the deceased looked "dead". Thank you for making my last memory seeing my mom a good one.

Best Regards, Joe Stoiber



Dear Fred, Joe and Staff,

On behalf of my entire family, I would like to extend my thanks and gratitude for arranging my father's visitation, funeral and burial services. You all ensured that every detail was addressed and solved every challenge that arose. The slide show movie was truly amazing and enabled everyone to celebrate my dad's life.

The keepsake CD's and the CD of the music played were so well done and greatly appreciated.

Thank you for arranging for the VFW as well as the US Marines to participate - that meant a lot to us and would have to my dad as well. At a time of great stress, you relieved us of so many burdens.

Sincerely,

Brenda, Donna, Brian and the entire family of Mel Redmon



Posted: June 5th, 2018, by Vicki, Billy, Cassidy, Mandi, Jon, Madison and Megan.


Dear Jeff, Brian, Mark and Fred,

What can I say except a great big thank you for everything you did for me and my family.  You took care of us from top to bottom.  We needed for nothing.

The obituary written by you Jeff was awesome.  I got more compliments on how beautiful it was.  And you were given the total credit.

We are eternally grateful for all you did to make Bill look like he was sleeping.  It brought us great comfort. 

I love you all and if you ever need anything please let me know.

Love,

Vicki, Billy, Cassidy, Mandi, Jon, Madison and Megan


Posted: June 5th, 2018, by Butch Daugherty and Family

Mr. Joe Newton,

My thanks to you and your staff for the beautiful funeral service you prepared for my dearest wife, Betsy Daugherty.  Your efforts honored her life and brought us tremendous comfort.

With warm regards,

Butch Daugherty and Family


​Posted: June, 4th, 2018 by the Family of Maria Teresa Perez-Argueta

Marlena, 

I just want to thank you again for the great planning you did for my mother’s funeral. Everything was done with care, it was very refreshing to feel others kindness. I know our case was probably a little more challenging than other so I am very grateful to you for going out of your way for us, and always making us feel as if nothing was out of the question. You and the staff at Fred C Dames have been amazing and compassionate. 

Thanks again from Me and all our family!!


Posted: January, 30th, 2018 by Floyd and Geri Fosnaugh - Family of Doris Fosnaugh

Thank you doesn't seem like enough...

Dear Joe and Dames Family,

We wanted to send along our thanks, but mostly our appreciation for the wonderful care and respect you provided our very much loved mother, Doris Fosnaugh, along with the rest of our family. 

Mom’s death was something we were not quite expecting on New Year’s Eve, and the manner in which you handled the call was remarkable.  You received a call at our request and proceeded to bring her to your facility within minutes of notification.  We were so surprised, but so thankful that she was safe and cared for overnight.  Thank you for that.

The following day of course, was New Year’s Day.  Who would expect anyone to help us make arrangements on a holiday?  You took the time to meet us and help us at a time that was so very difficult; and on your own time Joe.  Thank you for that.

The service was beyond what we expected.  Not only was mom beautiful, the room, the arrangements made with the pastor and the care and assistance you provided us throughout the day was beyond what was expected.  You made a very difficult day, free from the worries of a ceremony.  Your kindness allowed us to spend time with our family and friends as we said our goodbyes.

Your kindness, Joe, and that of the Dames Family will always be remembered.  You made us feel like we provided mom with the beautiful service she deserved and looking beautiful for her final journey.  We were proud of what we could do with your help.  How can we ever thank you? 

Sincerely,

Floyd and Geri Fosnaugh – Family of Doris Fosnaugh


Posted: January 19th, 2018 by Meagen Fay

There is no greater comfort than the certain knowledge that all will be thought of, and carried out perfectly, when one is not thinking quite clearly. The kindness and warm professionalism of Fred C. Dames has guided 4 generations of my family through loss - most recently the passing of our dear mother, Peggy Fay. My brothers and I extend our sincere gratitude to you all - and we particularly thank David Garbacz with whom we worked so closely. He is a gracious ambassador who embodies the legacy of care for which Fred C. Dames has always been known. Thank you so very much. Meagen Fay


Posted: January 18th, 2018 by Annette Sara Cunningham

My beloved Sister Margaret Alice "Peggy " Cunningham Fay was a performer, a teacher one dedicated to inspiring...a perfectionist. As the last of the Cunninghams to make her transition to Heaven with the help of Dames since the death of our Father in 1958. The personalized insight, care and commitment and attention to detail of David Garbacv once more reminded me and all Peggy’s extended family that David symbolizes all the is most valued in these challenging moments of a family’s life. Thank you to Dames for sharing him with us. Annette Sara Cunningham, New York City


Posted: January 18th, 2018 by Patrick Fay

Our family had the funeral services for our beloved mother this week. As was the case with the services for our father just 3 years ago, we were overwhelmed with the level of care and graciousness of all the Fred C. Dames team, especially David Garbacz. Thank you David !


Posted: January 16th, 2018 by the Jack Querio family.

Brian, Jeff, Fred, Amanda and Amy,

My family and I would like to thank you for your compassion, comfort and respect during the past week regarding the passing our dad, Jack Querio.

You made this very difficult time as positive as possible and your remarkable work with dad is beyond words for me to express.

Every detail of the process was completed to perfection and no question we asked, or favor we requested was denied.  We are warmed to know that when it comes time for our mom to meet dad again, you will be there for us again as well.

Our sincere gratitude and thanks,

The Jack Querio Family


Posted: December 8th, 2017 by George and Maureen Vukonich

My wife and I would like to extend our sincere gratitude for Fred C. Dames Funeral Home for the wonderful quality of service and care that we received when my dad passed.

We would particularly like to thank Director Brian. His personalized service for us, kindness, and gentle nature was very comforting.

We especially appreciate his exceptional efforts in arranging with the US Army, and the Adair County Missouri Records Division, graveside military honors for my father, who was a World War II veteran.

Additionally, Dames' specially outfitted hearse with motorcade style US flags and US Army insignia on doors was very moving and greatly appreciated.

The community is indeed fortunate to have Fred C. Dames.

With appreciation and thanks,

George and Maureen Vukonich


Posted: September 15th, 2017 by The Jackson Family

We had the most wonderful experience with this funeral home. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything was right. They are the most compassionate and caring people. We thank you for all they did for us in our time of sorrow. The Jackson Family.


Posted: June 6th, 2017 by Arnaldo Reyes

On behalf of my family, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude to you and your staff in the coordination of the wake/funeral of Aurelio Reyes. You all are wonderful people with such calming spirits. We could not have chosen a better place than yours to celebrate my father’s life at. Thank you for your caring words and tenderness during this difficult time, each and every one of you handled us with such care. Thank you for treating my mother with respect and tenderness and being patient with her as she mourned the loss of her husband. My wife, brother and I are also very grateful for all of your help in coordinating the wake, church, priest, funeral, tents, etc., Everything was truly perfect beautiful and perfect. Again, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. With gratitude, Arnaldo & Sheila Reyes & Maria & Adolfito Reyes


Posted: May 6th, 2017 by Ann Congoran

On behalf of our family, I would like to thank everyone, especially Marlena, for the guidance and help she provided when my husband passed away on 3/1/17,  Mike had always wanted a very simple funeral and Marlena was so helpful with the arrangements.  I never felt pressured at any point during our meeting.  She respected my husband's wishes which was extremely important to me.  On one of the most difficult days of my life, I was treated with respect, understanding and genuine care.  I would highly recommend the Fred C. Dames Funeral Home.  Our deepest gratitude from the family of Michael G. Congoran, Sr.


Posted:  February 23rd, 2017 by Kim Ingalls

Brian and Fred, words can't express how grateful I am to you both for your compassion during such a difficult time, and in helping honor my husbands wishes. Your attention to detail is outstanding you truly helped make a very difficult time for me go smoothly. When I couldn't find Jay's DD214 you took care of everything and made it possible to be honored in the manor that he deserved. I had reservations about the viewing portion of the service because he had become so thin from his brave battle with cancer, but he looked so good and completely at peace. I never felt as if I was just another client you both made me feel as if I had known you forever. Thank you for helping me truly celebrate Jay's life. you truly made me feel at ease with the arrangements from start to finish. It truly takes special people to do what you do and you both have earned very high marks from me. Eternally Grateful for all of your Compassion and Help, Kim Ingalls


Posted:  February 20th, 2017 by Jane Robbin

Recently, my family had the honor of working with Dames for my brother's funeral. It was unexpected and so very hard on all of us. But, somehow, Jeff Dames and his colleagues at Dames got us through a horrible time. From the very first meeting, where you are doing the unthinkable, planning a funeral for your son and brother, Jeff made it easy for us. We thought we would have to work with several different companies outside of Dames, but, in meeting with Jeff, we found out that was not the case. He was able to provide us with many beautiful flower options, the ability to assist us in creating and printing the booklet for the funeral and also submitted the obituary to the newspaper. Knowing that all of the details were in the hands of the Dames' and fellow employees was more than comforting. I have never planned a funeral before and it could have been terribly overwhelming. With their constant help and support, it was not. Also, since my brother passed away from cancer in Ohio, the staff at Dames had a huge hill to climb with regards to making my brother look like the picture we provided. Although we were having a private wake, it was important to my family that we say our final goodbyes and also not see the suffering that he endured. Somehow, they made it all ok. We could not have been happier with the results. We knew that they worked tirelessly to achieve what they did in making him look just as we remembered. We cannot thank you enough for the compassion you provided and for caring so much about my brother and family. When you said that I could contact you at any time with questions and then provided immediate answers, we all cannot tell you how much that helped us through the process. We wanted a beautiful, final tribute and we received that and more from Dames. Thank you... 


Posted:  September 15th, 2016 by Katherine Ross

When our beautiful mother passed away, we knew that we wanted to call Fred C. Dames in Joliet to handle the arrangements. What we didn't know, is that we would be treated like family from the moment they arrived. Fred and David came to the house to begin what we knew would be the most difficult days in our lives. They treated us with care and compassion, and respected where we were in the grieving process. David helped us find joy in remembering our dear mother and allowed us to honor her the way we wanted, which took patience and care. David wanted to make sure that we had a wake and funeral that would honor our mother and used his expertise to gently guide us through the process. He was with us every step of the way making sure everything was the way we would expect it to be. They arranged special details in the service that were so meaningful to our family, and they did so with out fanfare. Because of the care we received from David and Fred, we were able to spend the time honoring our mother and not thinking about all the details. In these times of sadness, David and Fred provided a promise of care and compassion that was effortless and needed. We are forever grateful for their genuineness and compassion during this difficult time. While we hope we don't need their services for quite some time, we encourage other families to trust this amazing team of professionals. It's an awful call to have to make, but when you have to make it, there is no one better.


Posted: June 20, 2016 by June Doughty

Hello, Brian,

On behalf of the Corradetti Family, I would like to thank you and your staff again for your professional care and assistance with the passing of our dear mother, Yolanda Corradetti, who passed on April 16, 2016.

Every step, from pre-planning to the burial, was handled with ease, on our part, and provided the entire family a sense of confidence and trust. We were especially impressed with our mother’s appearance and presentation; at such a difficult time, we were so relieved to see her look so serene and beautiful. 

Your staff should be commended; it may sometimes be a thankless job, but it is always a noble one. 


Posted: April 25, 2016 by Sherry Pizzo

As a single retiree I wanted to make sure my final arrangements would be followed. 
I've always known what I want to happen when my time comes; I just kept putting off calling the funeral home.  Well, I finally made a few calls to some funeral homes to gather information relative to my final wishes. I chose Fred C. Dames Funeral Home in Morris for several reasons....they were extremely informative, they operate their own crematory (which is part of my plan) and even offered several payment options that were in reach for me as I am on a fixed income. They offered the best value and most importantly, understood my budget and need for peace of mind. I encourage all seniors, like myself, to call Dames to become informed and provide the gift of clarity to your loved ones left behind.


Posted : April 1, 2016 by Julie Bittner-Spadafora

I lost my beloved partner after a brutal cancer battle. The staff at Fred C. Dames put together the most beautiful tribute and exceeded my expectations with their professionalism, compassion and attention to details. My Sandy looked absolutely beautiful as she was laid to rest.


Posted: March 15, 2016 by Christopher Tarr

Really superb and caring staff. They handled our family funeral with compassion, dignity, and class. Can't say enough about them.


Posted January 8, 2016 by Bob Mitchell

On behalf of the family of Jean Smolka, I would like to thank you for your kindness and support during a very difficult time for our family. We spoke with Patrick Prignano in your Morris location to prepare arrangements for my Grandmother's services. We had high expectations and a vision of how we wanted to celebrate a life well lived. Patrick surpassed our expectations and truly is a great asset to your funeral home. He was more than accommodating and was always available for additional questions ect. My Grandmother's funeral was one to remember. We were blessed with a snow storm and many obstacles that come along with such weather. Patrick and staff were exceptional. I will not hesitate to recommend your funeral home to anyone in the future. Thank you for all you did for our family.


Posted October 15, 2015 By Bridgette J

I wanted to say that having dealt with two different funeral homes within 5 months, I can make an informed comment.  My experience at Dames was simply outstanding. Joe made me feel very comfortable with all the arrangements, everything was managed like clockwork, and I was highly impressed with the whole business end of this experience. Plus I saved some money over what I paid for the same choices at another funeral home just months prior.


Posted August 31, 2015 by Sharon R. Darby

When I lost the love of my life unexpectedly, I didn't know where to turn. Jerry and I never talked about funeral arrangements or even planned for their expenses. I am grateful to the Fred C. Dames Funeral Home, they not only helped us through the most difficult time of our lives, but helped us arrange a simple service that our Jerry would have appreciated. All of this, without the financial burden that can come from emotional overspending. On behalf of the Jerry Handlon and Sharon Darby families, thank you to the Fred C. Dames Funeral Home and Crematory your human kindness will never be forgotten.


Posted September 5, 2015 by the families of Bill and Irene Booras

In 2006 and then again in 2015 we had funeral services for our father William and our dear mother, Irene. We were encouraged to have arrangements made ahead of time as both parents had reached their 90's. In both cases, we met with Jeff Dames, who was extremely polite, professional and sincere. He lead us though each step of the funeral process and continually assured us that FCD would be completely thorough and prepared. Both funerals went extremely well and there were no surprises. On the evenings of the wakes, the rooms looked very peaceful and beautiful. We had some questions that arose during the processes and our concerns were dealt with promptly and efficiently. We were never made to feel as though we were a bother. On the days of the funerals, our instructions were very clear and reasonable and we felt as though FCD was completely under control. We would recommend, Fred C. Dames Funeral Home to anyone who would like a clean and professional funeral home, with a staff that is very competent and willing to work with you. Thank you, Fred C. Dames for your outstanding service.


Posted March 27, 2015 By TRM

It seems odd to give a positive review under such sad circumstances, but all of the staff here is very nice. The facility is clean and as comfortable as can be expected.


Posted February 22, 2013 by Richard Mendoza and Family

Brian, On behalf of our entire family, I want to thank you for managing our mother's funeral arrangements. Your professionalism and knowledge, perfectly balanced by your sensitivity and caring attention to every detail made the experience easier and this final tribute to her a special memory. We felt especially comfortable working with you again. From the moment we entrusted our mother to Fred C. Dame's, we knew she was in a caring place that would ensure her dignity and respect. Everyone (the staff) was very caring and helpful. I am grateful to them all. Our loss was lessened by the love and understanding bestowed on us. I very much appreciated your patience and understanding with all the last minute upgrades during this terrible time in my life. God Bless. Yours faithfully


Posted: February 1, 2013 by Mary Lou Trepac

Recently I had the privilege of using the services of Fred C. Dames Funeral Home in Morris when my mother died after two weeks in hospice care. Their thoughtful, empathetic, and respectful attention to our needs was enormously helpful to me in making all the important decisions involved. The visitation and memorial service was elegant, and she looked beautiful. It was amazing to me that while being completely unobtrusive they managed to be right there the moment something was needed. Though the cemetery was about 30 miles away, the Dames' method for making the trip and for managing vehicles that might become separated from the procession was flawless. After interment, I returned to their facility to pick up my mother's personal items and found them to be bundled neatly and with the utmost respect. Their demonstrated professionalism and experience, in my opinion, is the benchmark to which other funeral homes should aspire. My experience with another funeral home in Morris was not as pleasant. When I mentioned the cemetery was in Orland Park, that funeral director sat back in his chair and announced that, "I won't take a hearse on the highway. I won't process that far with the hearse. We'd have to take her in the van." I don't even know what that means, take her in the van; but I do know that such arrogance and irreverence should never be displayed to a grieving family member. I sincerely thank Patrick Prignano, Fred Dames, and the entire Dames family for their kindness and respect during this most challenging time for me and my family.  


Posted: August 10, 2000 by Marcia Dick as a poem

When God lays me down to rest, I pray he takes me to the best. Fred C. Dames, I know is there to give their comfort and their care. Through death we are touched with so much sorrow. They help us to find our next tomorrow. My family will need direction and love. Fred C. Dames is lead by God above. They are loving and kind, men of their word, where all of your last wishes will be heard. They will guide and console you all the way from the moment you meet until the funeral day. When all is complete and in the past, Fred C. Dames remains steadfast. God bless and keep them to the end and many people to them send. Love and Prayers, Marcia Dick 8/10/2000

On behalf of our family, I would like to thank everyone, especially Marlena, for the guidance and help she provided when my husband passed away on 3/1/17, Mike had always wanted a very simple funeral and Marlena was so helpful with the arrangements. I never felt pressured at any point during our meeting. She respected my husband's wishes which was extremely important to me. On one of the most difficult days of my life, I was treated with respect, understanding and genuine care. I would highly recommend the Fred C. Dames Funeral Home. Our deepest gratitude from the family of Michael G. Congoran, S